The Fall
Warwick Cairns

The Fall

The Fall is an adventure novel in the tradition of Robert Louis Stevenson, Rudyard Kipling and John Buchan.

It is 1642 and England is hovering on the brink of civil war. When irate creditors force eighteen-year-old James Hanningford to flee from his wastrel father’s funeral, the chance to take part in a family friend’s lucrative ‘business deal’ seems to be a lifeline worth grasping with both hands.

But when the deal begins to go horribly wrong he finds himself up to his neck in trouble he could never have begun to imagine. The threats he faces grow ever more deadly and he is forced to run, to steal, to lie, to dissemble – and worse - to escape the attentions of those who wish him dead.

As events unfold he discovers surprising truths about his lost family wealth and learns the true character of those he thought his friends - and those he thought his enemies.

Book Details:

  • Author: Warwick Cairns
  • On Submission
  • All rights are available

Warwick Cairns

Warwick Cairns was born in 1962. He spent much of his childhood living on Europe’s biggest council-house estate, in Dagenham, Essex, before leaving for Keele University and then, later, for Yale in Connecticut, where he studied literature under the great American critic Harold Bloom.After trying his hand at various jobs, ranging from shifting boxes in a warehouse to clerking in a high street bank to drilling wells on a Sioux Indian reservation, he settled on a career in advertising.In his first book, About the Size of It (Pan Macmillan, 2007) he set out the way the world’s tradi...
More about Warwick Cairns